Merging Patients

This page will explain the process for merging patient records.

What is Merging Patients?

MergePatient1.png

Merging patients in TRAKnet is a tool used to consolidate two patient records in the event a duplicate of a patient has ever been created in error. Merging patient records can be accessed from the Tools drop-down menu in the upper left-hand portion of the main screen of TRAKnet, then by selecting the Merge Patients option. This will open the Merge Duplicate Patient window.

How to Merge Patients

After opening the Merge Duplicate Patient window, there are two patient search boxes. The first patient search is for the patient record that will stay. This is the record you will work off of for this patient going forward.

Search for the patient who will stay, then select them from the list.

The second patient search is for the patient record that will be merged. This particular record will be deleted; however, all information will merge into the patient who was selected to stay.

Search for the patient who will be merged, then select them from the list.

Once both patients have been selected, click Merge Patient. You will need to confirm your decision by clicking OK.

After the patients have been merged, TRAKnet will close the Merge Duplicate Patient window and take you to the chart of the patient who was selected to stay.

Merged Data

The patient who was selected to stay will now contain the medical information for the merged patient, such as:

  • Insurance
  • Encounters
  • Charges
  • Medical history
  • Referral history
  • Payments

There are two notable pieces of information that will not merge:

  1. Patient Comments
  2. Multimedia files

These two items will need to be manually moved over.

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 License